I Am Selfish And I Apologise

I have a confession to make
I hope it’s not more than you can take
Please forgive me if I sound rude,
If my demands strike you as crude.
I don’t want to offend you, entice or belittle you.
You see, I want it all.
Everything. All of it.

I want to steal a smile from you
And maybe even a laugh or two.
I want to stop you in your tracks
And demand that you hug me back.

I want to make you poor
By spending your time till I’m sure
That I made your day ignite
And your eyes sparkle with delight

I want to take your precious moments.
Capture them in my heart shaped pockets
And I’ll walk away with you none the wiser
That you made my day brighter

And years from now I want you to picture me
Then shake your head in quiet disbelief
Of the wild things we said and the stupid stuff we did
Of the joy we had and the laughter we shared.

Call me a thief or a tyrant
Even report me to your parents
If the crown fits I’ll wear it
And I swear I’ll take all the credit
For you see, I’m not one to speak lies because,
I’m selfish and I apologise.

Share your thoughts!

