Conquering 2013

Its been nine days into the new year and already it feels like 2012 is so far behind. In truth, it’s probably due to the fact that alot has happened in the past two weeks of my life. My family moved countries. Yes, countries!
The biggest thing about moving long distance is the packing. Everything had to be packed well. Breakables had to be wrapped and labelled, beds had top be dismantled, boxes had to be sealed and labelled; it’s a long process.
What I ended up realising was that I had sooooo much stuff! I’m an eternal optimist. If something breaks I keep it to fix or make something new out of it. If I really like something, I’ll keep it for the memories. I’m a horder. Dont get me wrong, I’m not surrounded by clutter, I just keep stuff neatly packed away until I come across it later on.

I had to learn to declutter my life. I had to let go of clothes I didn’t wear anymore or didn’t fit. I had to throw away the necklace beads and patches of clothes and old belts that I wanted to make something new out of. Lets face it, I’m no DIY expert 😀
Its something that when I reflect on, I can use daily.

image

Owing to the big move, new year resolutions we’re the last thing on my mind last year. Now, I find myself ‘resolutionless’ for the first time in a long time! 🙂 However, since life lessons are always around if you just know where to look, I have some what of a mantra for 2013; “No more clutter”!

It was easy to get rid of all the stuff that I didn’t need anymore. All it was doing was taking up unnecessary space in my room and my life. If I got rid of them, I was making space for new things and new memories 🙂

So think about that today, are you holding on to old memories, or old friends that have moved on but you haven’t? Do you so have baggage from last year that’s weighing you down and preventing you from embracing the new year? Get rid of it! Let by gones be by bones. Let go and let God 🙂 Sometimes, once you let go and forgive and forget, it’s all you need to move on and pave a new way for yourself.

Till next time, have a magnificent 2013!

Linet

image

One thought on “Conquering 2013

  1. Pingback: What Does the New Year Bring? - Daddy Lee 1969 - A Personal Blog | Daddy Lee 1969 - A Personal Blog

Share your thoughts!

