Why I wish I took a gap year

image

I recently met an amazing young South African woman (a second year student like moi) who told me of her escapades in London as a ‘gappie’. She took a gap year after her high school education, went to England and got a job as a teaching assistant.

She mentioned the details in passing so I cannot elaborate any further but a girl can dream can’t she? In my head I was picturing long fabolous days spent exploring all the hot spots of London while having fun, flirtatious, flings with eligible English men.

In all honesty, it probably wasn’t like that at all. In fact, I think I remember something about long friday afternoons spent sitting in front of a photo copying machine.
Whatever the case may be, I bet she still got to enjoy herself. Most importantly, she got to spend time to truly question herself and decide what she would like to do for the rest of her life.

Sometimes it’s hard to ask yourself that question: “Am I passionate about what I’m doing?” I guess the answer is the scariest part. Or maybe the fact that you can’t answer the question is equally scary. For me, I realised that I’m scared of both. I can’t answer that question because I’m scared of what my answer might be. Does that make any sense?

I have recently found myself in a position where I have been forced to ask myself whether I love what I’m doing right now. I literally have to really be honest with myself and question whether the path I have been on for the past two years is the right one and I’m scared. I’m scared of starting over but I’m also scared of making the wrong decision. I still have to make a choice right? It’s my life and no one else can make the choice for me.

So, to whoever is reading this, I sincerely hope that whatever it is you’re doing with your life at the moment, it’s what you love doing. If it isn’t, I hope you find the courage to change that and when you’re done, lend me a little but of that courage 🙂

Till next time,

Linet

Share your thoughts!

